At the Special Meeting of the **WEST DEVON BOROUGH COUNCIL** held in the **COUNCIL CHAMBER, KILWORTHY PARK, TAVISTOCK** on **MONDAY** the **1**st day of **JULY 2013** at **4.30pm** pursuant to Notice given and Summons duly served.

Present Cllr W G Cann OBE – The Mayor (In the Chair)

Cllr R E Baldwin Cllr S C Bailey Cllr K Ball Cllr M J R Benson Cllr A Clish-Green Cllr M V L Ewings Cllr C Hall Cllr D M Horn Cllr L J G HockridgeCllr A F Leech Cllr C M Marsh Cllr J R McInnes Cllr N Morgan Cllr M E Morse Cllr C R Musgrave Cllr R J Oxborough Cllr T G Pearce Cllr P J Ridgers Cllr P R Sanders Cllr J Sheldon Cllr E H Sherrell Cllr D Whitcomb

Cllr D M Wilde

Chief Executive
Head of Corporate Services
Monitoring Officer
Democratic Services Manager

CM 23 MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

(a) Mr Roy Connelly

Following the recent passing of Mr Roy Connelly, who had been a West Devon Borough Councillor for a number of years, the Council stood and observed a minute's silence as a mark of respect.

(b) Cllr E H Sherrell

On behalf of the Council, the Mayor wished to congratulate Cllr Sherrell for the achievement of being bestowed the honour of Honorary Freeman of Tavistock. Cllr Sherrell had been conferred this title in recognition of his 40 years service as a Member of the Tavistock Town Council and for his outstanding contribution to the town of Tavistock.

CM 24 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs D W Cloke, T J Hill, J B Moody, D E Moyse, L B Rose, R F D Sampson and D K A Sellis.

CM 25 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

The Mayor invited Members to declare any interests in the items of business to be considered during the course of the meeting, but there were none made.

CM 26 BUSINESS BROUGHT FORWARD BY OR WITH THE CONSENT OF THE MAYOR

The Mayor advised that there were no items of urgent business to be presented to the meeting.

CM 27 BOUNDARY REVIEW

A report was considered which sought to make a recommendation to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) on how many Members should be elected to serve on West Devon Borough Council from the May 2015 Local Elections.

In discussion, reference was made to the recommendations of the Political Structures Working Group. Some Members were of the view that the Working Group's recommendations were not strong enough to reflect the views of the Council. In light of the sparse and rural nature of the Borough and the projected population increases to 2018, some Members were of the view that the Council submission should affirm that the Council size should not be reduced below the current number of 31.

It was then moved by Cllr A Clish-Green, seconded by Cllr T G Pearce and upon the motion being submitted to the Meeting was declared to be **CARRIED** and **"RESOLVED** that:

- 1. the Council's submission to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England recommends that, when looking at the roles which need to be discharged by the Borough Council, coupled with the sparsity, rurality and proposed population increases for West Devon, the Council size (e.g. number of Members elected) should not be reduced below the current number of 31. However, should the Boundary Commission wish to recommend any variation in Council size, then it should propose a marginal increase in number; and
- 2. based upon this decision on Council size (and the comments contained in Appendix B of the presented agenda report), delegated authority be granted to the Head of Corporate Services, in consultation with the Chairman of the Political Structures Working Group, to finalise the Council's submission to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England before the deadline of Friday, 5 July 2013."

(The Meeting terminated at 4.55 pm)

)	
	Mayor